Still Learning

This is the 3rd time I’ve run for office. Each time I learn a little more about politics, people and myself. The 1st time I had a campaign manager who was more experienced in politics than I was. He had worked on Jean Chretien’s campaign for Prime Minister in Canada. I had definite ideas about what I wanted to accomplish, project out to the world and why. I wasn’t always right and both George and I learned a lot. The 2nd time I ran on my own with help from random friends. I did better than the first time around and not as good as I’d hoped, since I still needed to find a job. Oh, did I forget to mention that running for office in 2010 was part of my job search after being downsized? Well, we do what we need to in this economy. This time, the 3rd time, I’m running with a campaign manager again. Now I’m the one with (some) experience and she’s the one new to politics, but she’s brilliant and catches details and nuances I miss. The cool thing is that we’re both still new enough to enjoy it, be excited at meeting new people and try to remind each other to just have fun when we get tired, frustrated or discouraged. At least if I don’t get elected this time I still have a job, albeit part-time. So, if I get elected Amanda will have something to add to her résumé, some experience if she decides to run for office, and I’ll have a full-time job for 2 years serving the people in AZ Legislative District 26. If I don’t get elected Amanda will still have something to add to her résumé and I’ll try again next time. No matter what, it’s an interesting experience and I keep meeting great people. You should try it some time! And when you pick up your ballot, if you see my name please vote for me and let me work for you.

Published in: on October 17, 2012 at 2:35 pm  Comments Off on Still Learning  
Tags: , , , , , ,
