They’re Getting It!

Well, I knew all along there were a lot of people out there who are turned off by attack ads, mudslinging and dirty campaigns. How do I know this? Because I’m one of the voters who has felt this way (and voted accordingly) for a long time. During the last election I saw a commercial showing regular people criticizing politicians bickering and name-calling, admonishing them to grow up and deal with the issues. It was followed by a political attack ad. I thought that was pretty funny. I don’t see attack ads as productive. They have been very successful in the past, but I think people are starting to realize that a good press agent can spin almost anything into something sordid.

Most Moms tell their kids at some point “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all”. Voters are starting to realize that if a candidate has nothing good to say about themselves they’ll say something nasty about their opponent. So far this meant they usually won. We’ll see if enough voters have figured out what’s really behind this tactic and vote accordingly.

Published in: on October 14, 2010 at 2:39 am  Comments Off on They’re Getting It!  
Tags: , , , , , , ,
