Important Point

Chris Will and Carrie

Chris Will

I’m Chris Will and I’m running for state representative in AZ Legislative District 26. While I do want to win in this election and would greatly appreciate your vote, the most important point I want to make is that winning isn’t the point-participating is. Yes, participating is more important than winning. Part of the reason I ran for Sheriff of Maricopa County in 2008 was that I wanted to set an example and show that we can take part, have a voice and make a difference. Even if we don’t win we do make a difference just by trying. I always told my kids that you need to vote, and if there’s no one to vote for, run. An old friend called me on this point during a conversation when I was complaining about a law enforcement situation in our county and the choices on the ballot. Later a co-worker stated “You can’t run, you don’t have any money and nobody knows you!” The next day I was a candidate.

This is our government and if we don’t take part we are not only giving it away but paying a great price to have it taken from us bit by bit. How horrible the world is, how treacherous and dark, someone must make it safe for us…no matter the cost. Someone ought to… It’s nice to think that some stranger has our best interest at heart. Some stranger knows better than ourselves. Over and over we see the proof that they don’t. Fear sells. As long as we are too timid to take part in the government the government will continue to do what it does best: throw our money at problems through someone else (not me or you). Who benefits from this? Not me and usually not you.

Nothing will change until we take part. It isn’t a perfect system, but it’s our system. Besides, perfection is an ideal, something to strive for, not necessarily attainable. All we can do it try. The only way to fail is to not try. I’m a regular person, with all kinds of distractions, so if I can run for office so can most people. I ran for Sheriff of Maricopa county against Dan Saban and Joe Arpaio. I ran on the $500 exemption, so my budget was $500, entirely funded by myself. I’ll let you consider the pros and cons yourself. Mr. Saban’s budget was over $100,000. Mr. Arpaio’s Budget was over $500,000. Mr. Arpaio won. But I did get nearly 3% of the vote, in one of the biggest counties in the country, against maybe the most famous (arguably the most popular) sheriff in the country. I was working full-time, had 2 volunteers, 1 website and lots of distractions.

Go ahead, check it out for yourself, see what tit takes to run for office. What do you have to loose (or gain)? If I could get this far in that race just think how far anyone else could get in a less hotly contested race for a more ‘normal’ position! The Founding Fathers were farmers, craftsmen, merchants and such. They were ordinary people. Only when we look back to what ended up to be history do we realize that those became extraordinary people in extraordinary times. Our country was set up to be governed by ourselves— “Of the People, By the People and For the People.” If we don’t take part we risk allowing it to perish from this Earth. Be a patriot. Take part in the system, even if all you ever do is just vote for the person you really want to win, but if you feel strongly enough about something, stand up and run or help someone else run. We can all use a good workout once in a while.

If you think you might want to run for office you can start by checking out these sites:

http://www.azsos.gov/election/

http://maricopa.gov/SiteMapDetail.aspx?dept=54.1

Published in: on October 7, 2010 at 11:26 pm  Comments Off on Important Point  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,